ARUGULA, FENNEL & CARROT SALAD WITH A CREAMSICLE VINAIGRETTE

ARUGULA, FENNEL & CARROT SALAD

ARUGULA, FENNEL & CARROT SALAD

Ok…… so here’s the deal. I love salads. The funny thing is I never seem to eat salads enough. It’s most likely that I push myself to hard and believe it or not, I actually forget to eat. Well it’s more like I keep pushing it off till later. Then later is 8 pm. By this time a salad wont cut it, no matter what protein you slap on it.

Well today I ate breakfast! which lead me to make this stunning salad. Not only is it pretty its yummers as well. I did alot of tasting of flavors before compiling this lovely salad. Its made up of little morsels of left over things in my fridge, which is currently stuffed with vegetables and greens from my CSA drop on Wednesday.

The only item used in this salad from my CSA share was some delectable shallots and scallions. I am in the midst of entering several posts so you will see the full bounty of my CSA share spread throughout a few recipes. All of this was prepared in between trips to the grocery store and the kids play yard with my little ones. My Sofiya is just fascinated with cooking and watches me in her perch (a kid stool with walls) for quite a while before remembering she is 23 months old and then disappears yelling gibberish and tackling her brother Zayn.

I have been very busy with my Purple Fig Personal Chef business lately and haven’t been able to keep up as I wanted with my blog, but I will continue to keep blogging whenever I can. Your comments are inspiring and helpful so please don’t be shy and introduce yourself and say something if you like.

Here is the recipe for this delicious salad:

ARUGULA, FENNEL & CARROT SALAD with A CREAMSICLE VINAIGRETTE (SERVES 4)

1 Sm bag of baby arugula, cleaned
1 fennel bulb, shaved and julienned
10 small garden carrots or heirloom carrots, peeled and chopped thin in circles
4 sm shallot bulbs, sliced thin in circles
2 kiwis, peeled and sliced into circles
1/4 cup toasted melon seeds
S&P to taste

Dressing:

the juice of 2 oranges
1 tsp of good quality vanilla extract
1 scallion , chopped
1/2 cup of any neutral oil, such as a vegetable or sunflower oil
4 Tbsp of white vinegar

instructions:
– Prepare an ice water bath. Clean and peal carrots then cut in thin circles. In a small saucepan add the carrots, salt  and some water and bring to a boil. immediately drain carrots and shock by tossing in the ice water bath. reserve.
– toss the arugula, carrots, fennel & shallot in a bowl and put in your serving bowl. Then sprinkle with melon seeds and garnish with kiwis. Gently drizzle the creamsicle vinaigrette over the salad. (dressing recipe below)
Dressing:
in a blender add the juice strained of its pulp and seeds. Add the Vanilla, scallion and the vinegar. pulse till mixed. Then on low drizzle the oil in slowly. When it starts to thicken turn on med high until mixed. (about 1 min)
You can store the dressing up to 10 days if covered in an air tight container and refrigerated.
I hope you enjoy this great salad. The melon seeds give it a nice crunch but if you don’t like them try sunflower seeds, they are just as great, but with less chewing. The dressing is addictive and goes great on everything from fish to chicken to asparagus.

CHEERS!

-Mark

Leave a Reply

