Sweet Dreams

pancakes

Banana Brulee Pancakes with Chai Granola

Have you ever risen from a deep sleep remembering your dreams? I almost never do but I did this day! I had been scheming a new Macaron to attempt, which is a creme brulee macaron. I actually fell asleep with the perfect plan. However I awoke with another sensational idea. Cover the top layer of a stack of cakes with thinly sliced bananas and sprinkle sugar all over and brulee the top!

As I sat in bed and gripped onto this fantastic idea it lead to another. I had just made some amazing Chai granola and decided it would be fantastic to ad some crunch to this already yummy meal. As I was mixing the pancake batter I reached for the nutmeg, my go-to secret ingredient for my pancakes and accidentally grabbed chinese 5-spice. Accident? THERE ARE NO ACCIDENTS! I was now feeling like a genious. By the way, only add a little 5-spice or you will end up with gingerbread pancakes tha will seem unedible. i used 1/4 teaspoon for 2 cups of pancake flour mix.

So I had everything ready to go and then my family started to gather round the table. My daughter knew what was up (22 months old) and was standing beside me saying something in toddler gibberish that sounded like eat, bread, milk, touch, touch, touch….well you get the idea. Anyway, since I am immune to sounds while in the kitchen I continued on. I decide to forgo the whipped topping and just add some strawberries. Maybe in my mind this counteracted the immense amounts of sugar that are in the Chai Granola, pancakes and syrup. I felt at peace as I poured the perfect medium sized pancakes and made my stacks. I used a typical pancake batter. I like Krusteaz. I think they make perfect fluffy pancakes. I made everyone pancakes and made my special stack separately. My daughter always looks at me with a strange look that says “why do you always take pictures of my food!?”. My son is too busy eating to care.

I was grateful for being able to use my little brulee torch. I love it so much!. As I sat down to eat I realized I had two children and a dog less that 2 feet away, all with tongues out. I was feeling generous and everyone got a piece. Including Sam the dog. I highly recommend you try this. It was heavenly. As an added touch I would add caramel. I didn’t have any, and didn’t feel like making dulche De leche, or I would have.

The Chai Granola definitely was that special ingredient that made this all work so well. Here is a recipe for the Granola. Make a bunch and store in a dry place.

Chai Granola

Ingredients
4 cups granola
1/3 cup golden brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground pepper
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 300 F. Lightly grease a large baking sheet.
2. Mix first 9 ingredients in large bowl (oats-pepper).
3. Combine oil, honey, water, and sugar in small saucepan; bring to simmer over medium heat. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla.
4. Pour hot liquid over oat mixture; stir well. Using your hands (it’s hot!), carefully toss mixture until thoroughly mixed.
5. Spread the granola on the prepared baking sheet.
6. Bake until golden brown, stirring occasionally (every 10 minutes), about 30-40 minutes.
7. Transfer sheet to rack; cool granola completely. (last 2 weeks in a dry place in an airtight container

DSCF0317 DSCF0323 DSCF0326 DSCF0334 DSCF0337

Leave a Reply

