Barbecued-Pulled Pork sandwiches with Korean Aioli and Pickled Veggies

DSCF0105

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know it all sounds a bit crazy and exotic. It’s really not. Good ‘ole American pulled pork has merely taken a trip to Korea and has come back with some new duds! The pickled vegetables were an experiment, which turned out to be one of those moments when your like, “OMG why haven’t I tried this before!!!!”.

I was inspired by Anthony Bordains feature on Korea Town a while back. One of the foods focused on in this segment was Korean tacos. Which I have made. Which are awesome. What I took from this episode and intertwined into the pulled pork was this amazing Korean chili paste called Gochujang. Defiantly pick some up. But!. Be careful this stuff is Tito Puente hot hot hot! I added this paste to mayo with some lemon to tame it a bit and at the same time give it some much needed acidity to balance it out and make it pop.

I’m afraid I ate all the pickled vegetables in the sampling stage but can assure you they are all that and a bag of chips! Bread and butter pickles are also great as well. The pickled veggies I used were carrot, zucchini, squash, onion, fennel, garlic and okra.

Pulled BBQ pork

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to this lovely sandwich I made some moules-Frites. or mussels and fries for us simple folk. I must tell you I love mussels and fries. I always feel like I’m on vacation when feasting on this delicious combo. I of course have my own special concoction I like to cook the mussels in, and I have a great tip for you, if you try these at home.

DSCF0100 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first thing is to get some garlic roasting in the oven. For 2 lbs of mussels I used 12, medium to large garlic cloves. Toss therm in oil then roast for 15 minutes at 350. Make sure you use extra oil. when the cloves are tender, take out the sheet pan and with a spatula scrape them from the pan. At this point swirl the cloves around the oil on the pan, then remove just the cloves, reserving the pan.

Now turn your oven temp up to 425 if using frozen fries or 375 if using fresh. Either way you want to spread then in a single layer on this garlicky sheet pan. Moving around and tossing until coated. Do not salt. Salting will get you soggy fries. Cook until golden brown. Garlic oil + Fries = awesomeness

What I like to do for my mussels is take a quart container and fill half way with cream (or milk). Toss in 1 tbsp of dijon mustard. No not grey poupon or brown. You can really taste the difference I think anyway. Then toss in all the garlic and half a bunch of thyme, removing the big stems. Now take an immersion blender and puree till combined well. You can also do this in a blender. Now take mix and bring to a boil in a heavy sauce pot. if you can, preferably one you can serve right out of so the mussels stay warm. As son as the cream mix comes to a low boil, set on simmer, add mussels and cover for 5 minutes. DON”T PEAK. …….Ok you can if you want…..

DSCF0085

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now if your unsure about making pulled pork heres a recipe:

Oven Roasted Pulled Pork

Ingredients
Dry Rub:
3 tablespoons paprika
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon dry mustard
3 tablespoons coarse salt
1 (5 to 7 pound) pork roast, preferably shoulder or Boston butt

Directions
Mix the paprika, garlic power, brown sugar, dry mustard, and salt together in a small bowl. Rub the spice blend all over the pork and marinate for as long as you have time for, as little as 1 hour or up to overnight, covered, in the refrigerator.

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

Put the pork in a roasting pan and bake for about 6 hours. Basically, roast the pork until it’s falling apart and an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 170 degrees F.

Remove the pork roast from the oven and transfer to a large platter. Allow the meat to rest for about 10 minutes. While still warm, take 2 forks and “pull” the meat to form shreds. Using 2 forks, shred the pork by steadying the meat with 1 fork and pulling it away with the other. Put the shredded pork in a bowl. Pour BBQ sauce on the shredded pork and mix well to coat.

DSCF0104 (2)

If you try any of my recipes you should play sketches of Spain by Miles Davis to really lock you into the cooking zone. Works for me!

Bon Appetite

-Mark

3 thoughts on “Barbecued-Pulled Pork sandwiches with Korean Aioli and Pickled Veggies

  1. I’d love to say these look good – which they do – but I feel I’d be telling a bit of a lie since I don’t know what pulled pork is! It’s just like normal pork but stretched a bit…right?

Leave a Reply

