Summer Rolls & The Livings Easy…..

Summer Roll

Summertime is here! I have fully embraced it, well actually a half embrace since i just had carpel tunnel surgery done on my right hand. Which means I will not be cooking anything for a couple of weeks. Don’t worry though, I have been on a bunch of food journeys over the years and def want to blog those while recuperating.

Sorry to get off subject! Lets get back to why I am blogging today. Nothing is more satisfying and refreshing than a beautiful and delicate summer roll. Not just the texture either, the flavors are so fresh and subtle. A very nice starter for most summertime meals.

I kept it simple when preparing this Summer Roll. Well simple to me, as my wife often reminds me. This particular roll consists of carrot, Napa cabbage, basil, mint, sesame noodles, cilantro and my special peanut sauce.

mintnappa

When rolling I prefer this method and suggest you give it a try if you find rolling these lil guys is a challenge:

– Take two pieces of rice paper and slightly overlapping soak in very warm water. As hot as your lil fingers can tolerate.

– When soaking don’t wait till completely saturated or it will be hard to manage. When it starts to get a bit limp (10 seconds) pull it out and put it on your rolling surface. It will still feel hard, don’t fret it’s still going to continue to get soggy. By the time you add all your ingredients it will be perfect for rolling.

– When rolling, first tuck and roll half way, don’t worry about the ends yet. After rolled half way the fold in the ends and roll the rest of the way. Please note this isn’t always a perfect roll. You just want it to close enough to hold the stuffing. The more you make the better you will be at it.

springrollsauce.jpg

I like to serve my Summer Rolls with a spicy peanut sauce and a squeeze bottle filled with sweet soy. If you can’t have soy don’t worry I have a soy free sweet soy that taste just like it, actually better click here

For the peanut sauce I used this recipe:

3 tablespoons  peanut butter
1/4 cup light coconut milk
2 teaspoons fish sauce or soy sauce
1 to 2 teaspoons chili-garlic sauce
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon agave nectar or honey
Combine all ingredients in a bowl with 1 tablespoon water; whisk until smooth.

For the veggies use whatever you like. Add shrimp, chicken, pork or beef if you so desire as well. you have complete and utter freedom here. Remember there are no rules in food. Here are some starter ideas.

JUST EAT!

-Mark

Leave a Reply

