Shut the front door!

DSCF0369

….no really, please shut the doors, windows and adjust the climate in your home to about 67 degrees. Yes it’s that time again. French macaroon time! Keeping the air in your kitchen free of humidity and cold is key when making these little bits of joy. This time I have a few tricks up my sleeve that I have gained from other fab bogs. Also after my 6-7 failed attempts at making nut free macarons, I am actually excited to get back to good ole almond meal.

Recently someone saw my previous blog on blogspot where I last featured macarons and I asked if I would make her 3 doz. Of course I said yes! Any chance to toy with French macarons, and new flavors! My client asked for a recommendation of flavors. I suggested Lemon-Basil, Double Espresso, Strawberry Cheesecake and finally good ole dulce De Leche. I had made the espresso and dulche de leche but the other two were new, to me anyway.

After getting all my ingredients and the time alloted from my wife, I was ready to go. This brings me to an important point. My wife, Richelle, has been so amazing when it comes to giving me time to cook. We both have full time jobs and have 2 year old twins. So its allot. Anyway I have made these quite a few times now and had a game plan. And a something else……A trick I learned when doing some more research on Frenchies. The aged egg whites, you know the ones. The egg whites that in some recipes say to leave at room temp covered for 1 to sometimes 3 days. I aint got time fow dat! Evidently you can take 110 g of egg whites and microwave on timed defrost for 10 seconds. I was skeptical but indeed it works, and works well. No issues what so ever. Also whenever this or any recipe calls for vanilla paste you can use vanilla pudding powder mix. I use it all the time, first time on a whim, ad turns out it works great!

DSCF0329

DSCF0357

The meringue I made this go round was the best as I made to date.As you can see in the pic below it had nice firm peaks. I was weary when mixing because it was much thicker that usual but I forged ahead and the result was Delicious!

DSCF0332

By far the cheesecake macarons are the best I have ever tasted. The key to the filling is that its piped around the edge creating a thick circle, leaving just a small whole in the center to add strawberry preserves. Not only is this macaron lip smacking and addictive but also tastes amazingly like cheesecake!

By the way I have to just add, mostly because I am so excited, I am finally getting a close up lens for my camera! I look forward to taking more wonderful pictures for your viewing pleasure!!!

Ok so if you were interested in making the cheesecake macarons here is the recipe:

Strawberry Cheesecake Macarons
300g ground almonds
300g icing sugar
110g egg whites ( don’t forget the microwave trick 10 sec on defrost)
300g sugar ( since your heating with water and melting, no need for caster sugar)
75g of mineral water
110g egg whites
Line 3 baking trays with parchment paper.
Sift together the icing sugar and the ground almonds into a large mixing bowl. Add
the first batch of egg whites to the bowl but do not mix.
Place the sugar and water into a small saucepan and boil until the syrup reaches 118C. Once the syrup reaches 110C, simultaneously, begin to whisk the second batch of white eggs on the high speed of an electric mixer.
Pour the 118C sugar syrup onto the whipped egg whites, slowly down the side of the mixer bowl in a thin stream, avoiding the whisk. Continue to whisk until the meringue cools to 50C. Fold the meringue into the almond mixture with a rubber spatula. Whilst folding, turn the bowl a quarter turn on each fold.
When the macaron batter just begins to shine, it is ready, the batter should form a ribbon that falls from the spatula and holds its shape for around 20 seconds before sinking back into the mixture.
Pour the macaron batter into a pastry bag fitted with a plain round tip. Pipe the mixture into uniform rounds onto the prepared baking trays. Tap the baking sheets on a work surface to let any air bubbles rise out.
Let the macaron shells sit for at least 30 min to for a skin, no batter will stick to your finger if you touch one.
Preheat oven to 160C.
Bake the macarons for around 14 minutes depending on their size. The macaron shells will no longer wobble when touched.
For the Cream Cheese & Strawberry Jam Filling:
200g cream cheese
60g unsalted butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla paste ( I used 1 tsp of vanilla pudding powder mix, works AWESOME)
250g icing sugar, sievedseedless strawberry jam or ?To make the cream cheese frosting, beat together the cream cheese, butter and vanilla until combined. Gradually add the icing sugar until you reach the desired consistency.

To Assemble:

Take a macaron flat side up and pipe filling around outside edge. Fill with jam and top with another cookie.

So this opens up a new array of macaron possibilities, as I have never thought of adding a filling in the filling:
Peanut butter and jelly
Chocolate ganache and peanut butter
Chocolate ganache and cherries
Enjoy!
Next macaron post will be a chocolate covered pretzle macaron. Holla!!!!!
2 thoughts on “Shut the front door!

Leave a Reply

